When Will I Be “Old Enough”?

31 Aug

Isn’t that a perpetual question in life?

“When will I be old enough to see a PG-13 movie?”

“When will I be old enough to drive?”

“When will I be old enough to vote?”

“When will I be old enough to drink?”

Well, I’m at another ‘when will I be old enough’ point, only this time there is no definite number that can answer that question. This is where you come in.

I’ve been at my job for almost six months now, and I’ve earned the respect of my co-workers, and slowly, the respect of others in my industry. I know I’m still a young professional, and I would never deny that I still have much to learn, but when I’m asked something and find a definite flaw, when will my suggestion be considered valid? When will I be old enough for my opinion to count?

I’m going to try to be as nondescript as possible about this scenario, but I need you to understand. I was asked to proof a PR piece today that was not written by me. According to what I was taught just a couple short years ago in college, there were more mistakes than I cared to count.  I mean.. if I had submitted that to a professor, it would have come back to me looking like this:

I know that this PR piece was written by an older professional, and I know that if I were to mark the hell out of it, my opinion would be snubbed. So what’s a girl to do?

When will I be old, or maybe, experienced enough, before my opinion counts?

2 Responses to “When Will I Be “Old Enough”?”

  1. aribadler September 1, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Angela,

    Your opinion should count. Never hold back on offering constructive criticism on a piece that is in need of editing — as long as you are open to receiving constructive criticism on what you write and on your editing.

    Not every edit you make on a piece will be accepted; sometimes those older professionals may have an experience level that trumps hard-and-fast rules of editing. When that happens, you need to learn to just accept that, and maybe learn something from it by gaining wisdom from someone else’s experience.

    But if you don’t speak up you’ll eventually lose that fire in your belly that makes you want to edit things until they are as good as they can be. I’d hate to see that happen. If you find that you submit edits and they are continually snubbed and ignored, then it’s a question of whether you are in the right place or if your best career move would be to find an employer who appreciates your talent.

    ~ Ari
    @aribadler

    • angelaminicuci September 1, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

      Thanks, Ari. I really appreciate the feedback. I’ve got a feeling this is something I’ll be dealing with for a few years before I’m really settled in as a professional so it means a lot to hear that coming from you!

      Angela

Leave a Reply

